No Holiday Fuzzy Brain

I can’t believe Christmas has come and gone so quickly.  December was well-planned and executed from Day One to Day Twenty-Five. Then for some reason I had not put any energy into planning activities through the New Year.  It was incredibly low key, uneventful, quiet and on the cusp of being boring. I lamented to my husband that we should plan now for the following week after Christmas 2016 including the New Year so that we don’t find ourselves in the state of nothingness again.

But something interesting happened. The first Monday of the New Year  I wasn’t completely exhausted from the runaway train of joyous holiday shenanigans. Normally I would fall into the category of exhaustively getting back on schedule, putting away the decorations and trying to get back into gear. But this time around, it was different. I was ready to run at full speed again and I recognized that the down time I experienced was actually a benefit. It was refreshing. It set me up to dive into all the creative projects running rampant inside of my head.

I was given this planner for 2016 and it has become a task planner for me.  This is where I  plan out what I am going to creatively work on each day. It reminds me of this proverb, “Good planning and hard work lead to success, but hasty shortcuts lead to ruin.”

2016 journal

 

I am currently working on two projects. I am writing a novel style story currently titled “The Kingston Chronicles”.  It is the prequel story of  “Three Zero”, the TV pilot that I finished last year.  I have written a rough draft of the first chapter and I haven’t even reached the half way mark of this month.

Secondly, I am working on a valentines project for Get Outside the Box Etsy Store.  I collaborated with my mother-in-law and her amazing sewing skills to produce a Valentines Tea Party favor. It is super cute!  Can’t wait to show you the creative process and final product when it is done.

I am now thinking that I will definitely need a few “down” days at the end of this year to ramp up for 2017.  Have you recovered from the holidays? What are your creative projects in 2017?

This entry was posted in Creative, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

