Fifteen Minutes

I have had many people say to me that they would like to write something be it a book or story or script, but they haven’t gotten around to it. The want to write versus the actual art of writing is a vast crevice that can be conquered by what I like to call the 15 minute bridge.

If you haven’t yet heard about the 10,000 hour rule. Malcolm Gladwell suggests that in order to master a skill it requires around ten thousand hours of practice. But forget the TEN THOUSAND hours if you can’t successfully put into practice daily what you want to accomplish. So, I suggest to start small, try fifteen minutes a day five days a week. That is seventy-five minutes of writing your story. Once you have mastered the fifteen minutes then move up your time and increase your writing time incrementally. Interestingly enough, you will find that you will write the story and edge closer to changing your want into an actual piece of work.

I started at twenty minutes a day and then increased to sixty minutes a day and beyond. I have completed two film scripts, three children’s stories and a TV pilot.

Now, I have gotten to a place where I have a case of the writer’s itch that I need to scratch. I actually have found that it makes my day more complete when I do the action rather than thinking about what I want to do.

This applies to anything that you want to do or create or master or achieve. If you start little then it will not be so daunting and the beauty of the little is that it grows into a lovely habit that you can’t go a day without.

What is something you have been wanting to do, but haven’t?

Take the fifteen minute challenge and see what idea comes to life!

Happy Creating!

 

 

This entry was posted in Creative, writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fifteen Minutes

  1. Erin Turnley says:

    Needed that- it’s so easy to see the “workout bug” but now I see I could start writing again and make it my new itch!!!

    Xo

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Pam Kropp says:

    Great challenge! You are an inspiration!

Leave a Reply

